My Most Anticipated Games of 2017 (So Far)

Not too long ago I talked about my Top 10 games of 2016, now here are all the games (and a console) with release dates in 2017 I’m looking forward to so far. There’s quite a big number of them already and there are sure to be more as games and release dates are announced, so expect this list to be updated frequently.

317736-grav2.jpg

Gravity Rush 2 (January 20th, PS4)

Gravity Rush Remastered is one of my favorite PlayStation 4 games, as well as a game that I think needs and deserves a sequel. Originally set to be released December 2nd, 2016, it got delayed by a little over a month, however this turned out to be more of a benefit than a setback, because  now the DLC will be free. There’s nothing quite like being able to shift the gravity around you, and with the new Lunar and Jupiter styles, there’s more variety as to how you can shift gravity. A demo is available on PS4. There’s also an entertaining OVA set between the games on YouTube called Gravity Rush: Overture.

January 24th

kh-2.8-featured-image.jpg

Kingdom Hearts 2.8 HD: Final Chapter Prologue (PS4)

Kingdom Hearts 2.8  is the last new collection of Kingdom Hearts games before Kingdom Hearts 3, and includes Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance HD, Kingdom Hearts Unchained x: Back Cover cinematic, and Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep 0.2: A Fragmentary PassageKingdom Hearts has been a series I’ve enjoyed since I played the original PlayStation 2 games. Even though it might still be awhile until Kingdom Hearts III finally comes out, at least we get a taste of it with Birth By Sleep 0.2: A Fragmentary Passage. With 2017 being the 15th anniversary of the franchise, maybe Kingdom Hearts III could come out late 2017/early 2018. A man can dream.

ToB-Aug-18-Japan.jpg

Tales of Berseria (PS3/PS4)

I have a rather odd history with the Tales series. My first experience with it was my friend in middle school telling me how much he was enjoying Tales of Symphonia. Years later in college, I witnessed my roommate playing Tales of Graces f, and thought it would be good to try this series out. The first Tales game I played was Tales of the Abyss  for the Nintendo 3DS and at first it was okay, but over time I grew to really dislike it. Later, I tried Tales of Symphonia HD because I had heard it was one of the best, and that one was also okay, but I never got to finish it because I was never into it much. Tales of Berseria had me interested from the beginning, I mean a protagonist who’s a pirate with demonic powers and a cool arm sword? Three things I already love mixed into a JRPG, count me in. I have the Japanese demo, and I enjoy the combat a lot, which I’ve heard is quite different from other Tales games. Hopefully this game will be enjoyable to both fans and newcomers.

original.jpg

Yakuza 0 (PS4)

I had Yakuza 3 for awhile, and for all the crazy things you could do in it, it still felt kind of limited and boring. I always felt that I wanted more out of it. The upcoming prequel, Yakuza 0, however, is set in 1980’s Tokyo, and is looking to be a much more dynamic and enjoyable experience.

DigimonWorld_NextOrder_KeyArt-copy.0.0.jpg

Digimon World Next Order (January 31st, PS4)

I previously talked about my love of Digimon in my Top 10 Games of 2016 article, so this game should come as no surprise. It goes back to the roots of the Digimon World games where you battle Digimon, but you actually have to take care of yours like pets, feeding and petting them and such. The twist this time is that, you always have two Digimon with you in your party instead of one. I’m hoping that those who enjoyed Cyber Sleuth can realize beforehand that Digimon Story and Digimon World are two different yet similar series.

Power-Rangers-Mega-Battle.jpg

Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers Mega Battle (TBA January, PS4, XBO)

The art style of this game is atrocious, similar to a browser flash game, however, it seems to have the same spirit as the SNES Power Rangers beat’em ups, so I guess we’ll have to wait and see how it turns out.

maxresdefault.jpg

Ys Origin PS4 port (February 21st)

The first Ys game I ever played was The Oath in Felghana for the PSP, and although I never got to finish it due to a messed up analog nub, I appreciated it’s unique and challenging game design. Y’s Origin was announced for release on the PlayStation 4 at PSX 2016, and since I’m primarily a console gamer rather than PC, which Ys games already have ports on, I was hyped that an Ys game would be coming to a modern console.

21898162763_da2cfe4b6f_o.jpg

Horizon Zero Dawn (February 28th, PS4)

Hunting giant robot looking dinosaurs? Getting to hack them and ride them for your own benefit? Huge open world? It’s hard for me not to be interested in this game, and after waiting for it for awhile, it will finally be released. Some are expecting it to be a disappointment, but many others believe it to be Sony’s next big hit, so let’s hope this game plays as good as it looks and if sequels are made they just keep getting better.

Nier2.jpg

Nier Automata (March 7th, PS4, PC later)

This game is being developed by Platinum, with somewhat similar combat to Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance, one of my favorite action games of all time, as well as being directed by Yoko Taro, a game designer known for his unique, sometimes even described as genius, game design choices. Nier Automata is a clever mix of Platinum action and bullet hell, with a constantly switching perspective. A demo was recently released, and it’s looking to be great, if not one of Platinum’s best games.

CkQSI1sVEAA8Dwa.jpg

Danganronpa 1+2 Reload (March 14th, PS4)

I never played the Danganronpa games, but was always intrigued by them. With how much I like the Zero Escape series, it might be a good time to try them once they’re ported to PlayStation 4.

KH1525_CMYK_bk_1477580925.png

Kingdom Hearts 1.5+2.5 HD Remix Collection (March 28th, PS4)

All the Kingdom Hearts games (other than those in 2.8) , with three being cinematic remakes, on one system. Need I say more?

persona5.jpg

Persona 5 (April 4th, PS4)

This game was finally released in Japan in September, and was slated for release on Valentine’s Day for the U.S., but was delayed until April 4th. One of the few delays where instead of complaining, gamers let out a sigh of relief, now having 2017 game releases a bit more spread out. It’s looking to be the most stylish and compelling Persona game yet. Hopefully it won’t get too many unnecessary spin offs.

original.jpg

Yooka Laylee (April 11th, PS4, XBO, PC, Nintendo Switch)

This was the first kickstarter game I actually wanted to see succeed. With Rare not being the company it once was, it’s good to see a new collect-a-thon platformer by those who were involved with Rare back in the Nintendo 64 days.

 

NintendoSwitch_hardware.0.0.jpg

Nintendo Switch ( March 3rd, Games TBD)

Nintendo’s new handheld/home console hybrid has people either excited or worried. Having always loved handheld systems, with my GameBoy Color being the first video game system I ever had, I’m pretty excited as well. I had always wondered why more modern handhelds didn’t have an easier way to connect to a TV, but with the Switch, there is no reason I have to worry about that anymore, for Nintendo games at least.

screenshot_8-768.jpg

Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (March 3rdWii U, Nintendo Switch)

After years of waiting, this brand new open world Legend of Zelda game will finally be released. It’s still looking to be a great new Zelda title, and will even have voice acting! Link is still silent other than his shouts though. Shocked that there won’t be a bundle with this game at launch.

Super-Mario-Kart-8-Deluxe-Release-Date-and-Price-49-99-578040.jpg

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe (April 28th, Nintendo Switch)

For the brief time I had a Wii U, Mario Kart 8 was one of my favorite games to play. This deluxe version has new characters, new tracks, an improved battle mode, and can be played on the go. Hopefully a bundle will be released some time in the future.

s.aolcdn.jpg

Super Mario Odyssey (Holiday 2017, Nintendo Switch)

This is it, the big Super Mario game everyone was curious about. Mario travels to a more realistic world with plenty of different environments and even new characters. Mario can also now use his hat to attack or for a jump boost. It definitely looks like an interesting game. Unfortunately, many are comparing in to the infamous Sonic the Hedgehog (2006) , due to Super Mario characters being in the same world as more realistic people. Hopefully it turns out to be a much better game than it’s comparison.

xenoblade-2-with-logo.jpg

XenoBlade 2 (TBA 2017, Nintendo Switch)

There’s a possibility that this game won’t actually be released in 2017, but let’s hope it is. I’ve never been much of a fan of the Xenoblade series but I appreciate the world in it. With a different artstyle than previous games, I’m curious to see how the gameplay is different as well.

ultra-street-fighter-2.jpg

Ultra Street Fighter 2 (TBA 2017, Nintendo Switch)

A Nintendo Switch exclusive version of the beloved fighting game, with graphics that can be switched between HD and original, a few added characters, and a new 2v1 mode. Oddly enough, no release date or price has been announced yet.

DanganronpaV3_blacklogo.png

Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony (PS4, Vita)

The third game in the Danganronpa series

de58169bad6f7e42332691b0cde39f99.png

Ni No Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom (PS4)

 This sequel was first announced at PSX 2015, with a glimpse of gameplay shown a year later. I enjoyed the original Ni No Kuni enough, but felt that it’s flaws kept it from being the great game I wanted it to be. To me, it felt like a game that didn’t know what it was trying to be, mixing elements of games like Final Fantasy with elements of Pokémon, yet not quite finding the right balance. Hopefully this sequel can fix that, and will improve from it’s predecessor.

marvel-vs-capcom-infinite-release-date-updates-get-ready-for-story-mode-a-slew-of-marvel-characters-and-more.png

Marvel vs Capcom Infinite (PS4, XBO, PC)

 This is one of my favorite fighting game series, and for years I was wondering if they would ever make a new one. With few characters confirmed (Including Megaman X’s first appearance in the series), many are interested to see who else shows up. There ‘s also a new Infinity Stone mechanic, which can help players in certain ways depending on which infinity stone they have equipped, so we’ll have to see how that turns out. Other confirmed characters include Ryu (Street Fighter), Morrigan (Darkstalkers), Iron Man, Captain America, and Captain Marvel.

red-dead-redemption-2-ps4.jpg

Red Dead Redemption 2 (PS4, XBO)

 I’ve never been a fan of Grand Theft Auto, but when Rockstar came out with Red Dead Redemption I had never played anything like it. Getting to be an outlaw in the old west was a great time, whether it was in the main campaign, the fun multiplayer, or the Undead Nightmare DLC. Not much is known about this sequel yet, but I’m sure it will be just as good, if not better than the last game.

injustice-gods-among-us-2-poster-leaks.jpg

Injustice 2 (May 16thPS4, XBO, PC)

 The first Injustice game was the first fighting game I played that had an engaging and entertaining story. Not being a big fan of Superman, I always wondered what it would be like if he used he nearly limitless power in a more corrupt way, and I was not disappointed.This game introduces a new armor mechanic which can affect a characters stats, and it will be interesting to see this kind of mechanic in a fighting game. Characters confirmed so far include: the returning Batman,  Flash, Aquaman, Harley Quinn, Superman. and Wonder Woman, as well as the new Atrocitus, Blue Beetle, Deadshot, Gorilla Grodd, and Supergirl.

Cuphead_Xbox_One_gameplay_screenshot.png

Cuphead (XBO, PC)

This boss filled game should have been released in 2016, but the developers wanted to add more platforming elements to it. I love that it uses the style of constantly moving 1930’s animation like Steamboat Willie, and has a jazzy soundtrack as well.

hellblade_concept_01.jpg

Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice (PS4, PC)

This game is intriguing. Put on this list more out of curiosity than anything. Graphically it looks great, and using celtic mythology in a game isn’t something many would think of. The most recent trailer I saw showed some combat, which didn’t look very good, but it could have been improved since then.

maxresdefault

Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy (PS4)

The only Crash Bandicoot game I liked as a kid was Crash Team Racing, because that was the cart racer I grew up with until being introduced to Mario Kart DS in middle school. This game has improved graphics, and from what I’ve heard it has improved gameplay as well. I’m hoping it sells well so that maybe the developers will think about doing a Spyro HD Collection in the future. The purple dragon took a backseat in Skylanders, and should get a return as well if the Bandicoot is getting one.

aa-marvel-guardians-of-the-galaxy-telltale.jpg

Guardians of the Galaxy: The Telltale Series (PS4, XBO, PC)

Hot off the heels of their popular Batman series, Telltale will take a stab at one of Marvel’s properties. I’m curious to see how that turns out.

maxresdefault.jpg

Sea of Thieves (XBO, PC)

This pirate crew MMO could either be new Rare’s first actually decent game, or another flop. I hope it’s fun enough that it will succeed, because pirates are awesome, but with Rare not having the best track record in recent years, it’s hard to say.

yakuza-kiwami-and-yakuza-6-announced-for-ps4.jpg

Yakuza Kiwami (PS4, Summer 2017)

A PS4 remake of the original PS2 game, finally making it’s way to the west.

1996269_0.jpg

Zero Escape: The Nonary Games (PS4, Vita, PC)

I’ve played all of the Zero Escape trilogy, and I’ve enjoyed all of them. The most recent entry in the series, Zero Time Dilemma, was even on my fourth best game of 2016. This collection contains 999:9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors and Virtue’s Last Reward. 999 will be updated with fully voiced cutscenes, and it’ll be great to play this again with puzzles (The iOS version, which I played, only had choices and no puzzles) and voice acting. Hopefully, the series can gain some popularity through this collection.

That’s a lot of games! With plenty more to be announced in the future. Although I would expect delays for some.

One thought on “My Most Anticipated Games of 2017 (So Far)

Leave a Reply

