Stress, Relief, & Video Games- NERD POSITIVE EPISODE 5 + Companion Article

I apologize for the slight decline in quality, I was trying out a different video program. Looks like I’ll have to go back to the other one for now, while I learn more about this one

As I said before,  many of the music tracks used are covers by Bulby, he allows any to be used as long as he’s credited,  he’s really talented! So definitely check out his youtube channel.

Terms:

Chronic Stress:  the response to emotional pressure suffered for a prolonged period over which an individual perceives he or she has no control.

This video is short on terms so I’ll just write down the various ways to help reduce stress that I mentioned:

     It has been suggested that one antidote to stress may be finding a place where we have control. Somewhere where we feel we can go at our own pace and do things on our own terms.

Meditation: I’ve been out of practice for awhile now but this really helped me during the first semester of my senior year of college

Relaxing Video Games: Ocean themed games are just my own personal example but people find plenty of others relaxing as well, from Hack & Slash games like Dynasty Warriors to turn based RPG’s like Pokemon or the older Final Fantasy games, it all just depends on personl preference. Expect another article about this coming soon.

Listening to Relaxing Music:

(also depends on personal preference)

Abzu Soundtrack

Endless Ocean Soundtrack

Endless Ocean Blue World Soundtrack

Other suggested antidotes to stress:

  • Connecting with and helping others, which can help us mend ourselves and possibly live longer and healthier lives
  • Paying attention to our working and living conditions, which are absolutely vital to our health
  • Getting more involvement, and more reward for effort in work.      

3 Steps to follow when overwhelmed with stress (From Jane McGonigal’s book, Reality is Broken)

  1.       Stay optimistic, set goals, and focus on any positive progress made.
  2.         Get support from those close to you, such as Family and Friends
  3.          Learn to identify your symptoms like a temperature gauge. How you feel tells you when to do more, do less, or take breaks, so you can gradually work your way up to more demanding activity.   

     I hope this video and article helped you understand stress a little better, and hopefully this information will help you manage it in a healthy way.        

One thought on “Stress, Relief, & Video Games- NERD POSITIVE EPISODE 5 + Companion Article

  1. Nice! ABZU definitely has a nice, relaxing soundtrack. I think one of the most relaxing games is Animal Crossing. Little-to-no conflict, easy to get into, and all-around fun. Great post!

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered cross posting your stuff to our platform. If you don’t know much about us- we’re the same team behind Movie Pilot, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) the exposure they deserve. Feel free to email me! My email and more info is on my about page. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

